Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, many people have left their old favorite activities and made shopping their new hobby. I believe this trend is happening because shopping areas have replaced open public spaces in many cities. This pivot has created a negative impact on our society. In my childhood, children's hobbies mostly involved playing. Usually, children played in a spacious outdoor area, such as a yard, park, or even a ricefield. Their parents came to supervise the kids’ playtime. Furthermore, engaging in these physical activities could also strengthen family bonds. Other trendy hobbies were sports, including badminton or soccer. However, people need an open space which is accessible, safe, and suitable to enjoy these hobbies. Thus, with excessive development in most cities, there is little to no open space left for citizens to do their former hobbies. On the other hand, many cities experienced a massive construction of malls. Consequently, this lifestyle shift has led people’s behavior to be more consumeristic. The absence of public space pushed citizens to spend their time in the mall. Moreover, it’s become a trend to hang out in a mall. As a result, this switches their previous hobby to shopping. Personally, I think, nowadays, even children prefer going to the mall and buying things rather than doing other hobbies. Nonetheless, the habit of consumerism has more drawbacks than benefits. Consumerist behavior indicates inaccessibilty accessibility inaccessible to public recreational facilities. People have little enjoyment in other self-fulfilling activities, so they choose shopping instead. In short, shopping as a hobby signifies a lack of access in a leisure activity and infrastructure.