With the increase of digital media available online the role of the library has become obsolete University should provide digital material rather than textbooks Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view

In the era of technology, online availability of books has increased around the world which somehow takes over the role of a traditional library. It is also argued that in institutions, internet books should replace hardcopies which has its own pros and cons but everything will unfold as we move along in the essay. In today's modern time, the scope of education has expanded widely and every one wants to learn new facts from the most updated source available. Eventhough some of the biggest libraries around the world can accomodate thousands of textbooks, not everyone can access them at their own convenience. Additionally, it is a very tedious job to locate the exact content that reader wants to read in a book, therefore storing textual information in a soft copy format makes information to everyone more accessible at any given time. As many schools promote e-learning using various platforms, one cannot forget the feel of an actual book in hands. A recent study by Harvard showed that 60% of school going students still prefer to sit in a library and understand concepts using subject expert journals or peer group study sessions. The environment provided there helps to create a deeper bond with the subject and increase conceptual learning which cannot be replicated with online education. In my point of view, the shift from hardbooks handbooks to softcopies is a good change as it helps educators to provide multiple resources to students from around the globe. In addition to this, it also promotes new idea formation and expands the knowledge of a child or an adult in any area of interest. To conclude, libraries are not 100% replacable but it is a very good thought to adapt modern scientific discoveries in the learning system for a change. This makes a learner more compatible to new technology and also provides access to a plethora of books to chose from.