In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, people can purchase international goods in local supermarkets. This is a consequence of globalization which company both advantages and disadvantages. I believe it is a negative development due to climate change and sustainability. First of all, transporting global items is a time-consuming and harmful behaviour to the environment which may produce green-house gases and lead to global warming. Even though it can benefit people who like foregin products, it still unnecessary in our society. For example, imported eggs may produce only 3 times more carbon footprint than local eggs which is an important indicate for persevation. As long as individuals have environmental awareness, even local goods may be more expensive citizens still can accept the prices. Therefore, the government should avoid importing global goods to reduce carbon emissions. Furthermore, sustainability has become a main issue among our society. Using local products is vital to protect our local farmers and industries. The instance of buying local products is diary products, especially in Taiwan. I am a person who lives in an island for a long period. The prices of diary products are expensive, since milk and cheeses are difficult to produce and need large space to prduce. As a result, imported milk can attract residents easily. In this way, local milk compaies are facing bankrupt which may cause serious result such as high unemployment. In conclusion, potecting local industries is far more vital than personal preferences. Hence, I strongly believe it is disadvantgeous development in modern communities, as it may lead to severe consequences.