Fossil fuel (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main source in many countries, but some countries, the use of alternative source of energy (wind and solar energy) is encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, some parts of the world have switched their preference towards using renewable energy sources, as compared to some countries still rely heavily upon fossil fuels as their primary source of energy. In my opinion, it is a positive development with some drawbacks. One main benefit of using renewable energy sources is protecting the environment. The usage of fossil fuel might lead to disturbing the environment through global warming, ozone depletion. In contrast, renewable energy sources are cleaner and leave smaller carbon footprints. So, the increased shift toward alternative energy sources would help in improving the air quality gradually and sustainable future. Additionally, this change can reduce the dependence on fossil fuels, which are limited already, and could take billions of years to renew, and the prices are also fluctuating due to some political tensions between two nations. Thus, using solar and wind energy would help in preserving fossil fuels for future generations and also encourage to use of the sources which are easily available in particular countries. Although there is a negative side to using renewable energy, the setup cost is expensive and time-consuming. The plans and strategies are significantly important in shifting the change toward non-conventional sources, such as geographical location. For example, some countries are near to pole and it would lead to less sunshine in these countries. To sum up, there are several benefits that alternative sources offer; it should be accepted on a global level and encourage people to use it as much as they can, and work on eliminating the drawbacks by using technology.