The percentage of overweight children in western countries has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

In recent years, the number of overweight children has significantly increased in many western countries. In my opinion the main causes for this trend are poor eating habits and a lack of physical activity. This essay will also discuss the possible effects of it and explain what can be the most effective solution to solve this issue. One of the biggest causes of obesity today is a growing consumptation of unhealthy food.People often eat fast or processed food, which is high in calories, sugar and fat. These foods are cheap, easy to prepare and moreovere widely accessible, which make them more attractive than healthy meals. Another reason why more children are obese nowadays, is a sedentary lifestyle. Many young people spend most of their time in front of screen,playing video games or scrolling social media, instead of going out and being physically active. For instance, if a child is not involved in any sports, they will become overweigt because of physical inactivity. One serious effect of obesity is poor health. Overweight individuals are more likely to suffer from diabetes and heart diseases, which can put an extra pressure on healthcare system. In addition, obesity can also affect mental-well being of children. Many obese teenagers may struggle with depression, anxiety and some of them may even face bullying at school, which can lead to long term emotional issues. To tackle this problem parents and schools need to work together. The most effective solution would be to increase the importance of fitneess healthy diet, by promoting physical activity and proper nutrition. In conclusion, obese children may suffer from many illneses illness, which can negatively affect their physical and mental helath. Therefore, it seems advisable to promote healthy lifestyle among young people, because it will benefit the whole society.