In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the advantages of this change outweigh its disadvantages?

In some nations, people prefer to drive to purchase in the supermarkets on the outskirts rather than central groceries. While this trend could cause an increasing use of automobiles and serious traffic congestion, I personally believe that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks.   Admittedly, the wider application of private cars negatively affects air conditions and the convenience of commuters. This is because excessive automobiles on the streets lead to traffic congestion during rush hours. This means it will cause a waste of commuters' time and bring additional inconvenience. Meanwhile, carbon dioxide emissions from traditional fuel vehicles will jeopardize the local environment and raise the demand for petroleum resources. In other words, toxic gas emissions and usage of petrol might cause a wide range of environmental problems such as climate change and greenhouse gas emissions. However such disadvantageous factors can be addressed by several approaches. For example, governments can draft policies to replace oil vehicles with electric vehicles and improve transportation systems to enhance accessibility to residents. On the other hand, suburban stores are beneficial to both society and individuals. Firstly, more emerging supermarkets in suburbs will boost the economic development of rural areas, which will notably narrow the gap between the countryside and downtown. For example, there will be more amenities and business companies in the rural areas and thus promote the municipal incomes. Secondly, large-scale malls moving to suburbs can effectively reduce the land rent and labor costs; meanwhile, the expenditures saved can be allocated to expanded space to accommodate more products and improve the quality of commodities. Consequently, this will reduce the commercial density in the city center and upgrade the consumption experience. Since the variety of products can be greatly increased and the area of the frozen food section can be expanded to provide fresher ingredients.  In conclusion, I strongly agree that transforming shopping malls to the outskirts has more merits than its drawbacks.