Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A new trend has emerged, where the popularity and increased sales of a particular consumer product is dictated by its efficient marketing strategy. Some individuals believe that these products are generally not essential or needed in an individual's day-to-day life. I completely agree with this notion and the reasoning behind my perspective will be discussed in this essay. The rise of consumerism of certain nonessential products such as skincare products are heighten primarly due to the celebrity endorsment. For instance, when a celebrity with a huge fandom endorse "Jade roller " as her beauty secret, the cult-like followers believe it to be true and invest in this product, with validating the facts. In reality, the importance of jade rollers is just a marketing startegy, in truth, it does not have any effect on an individual's appearance. Moreover, Many consumer good manufacturers use this approach to increses increases both sales and polularity for their nonessential products. Furthermore, companies try to set a narrative of posh and luxury, to appeal their consumers. They do so by using Instagram and Tiktok influencers to promote their products as a luxury, which can be own by a rich individuals. By pushing such notion, they cultivate a mindset that an individual needs that product to feel superior to their peers. For instance, a product called "Alkaline Water" is promoted as a premium healthy drink that only a rich person can own. Later, to create this mindset they ask Influencers to promote it as a luxury product. However, in reality a normal water does the same job and is extremly cheap but appealing advertisment change consumer mindsets into believeing otherwise. In conclusion, a tactful marketing startegies can elevate the sales and popularity of any given products, regardless of its need in an individual's life. By using celebrity endorsement and setting a narrative of luxury they manipulate consumers into believing that the product is essential and they need to buy it so they can change their lives. Thus, as a consumer it is crucial to research about a product before buying it.