'Innovation is often driven by the pursuit of profit and economic growth. However, some argue that innovation should be targeted towards addressing social and environmental issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.'

In modern society, increasing economic development and profit not only promotes innovation, but also allows people live in a convenience daily life. Therefore, some people believe that we should pay more attention to deal with social and environmental issues. In this essay, I will describe both perspectives, and I remain neutral on the issue. Initially, it is no a doubt that purchasing benefits has a significant influence of the world’s innovation. it is a motivation to drive private companies invest in research and developing new technology. For example, the development of smartphones, electric vehicles, and artificial intelligence has generated substantial economic growth but also transformed the way people live and work. People can use AI to address some paper work more efficiently. Moreover, they can save time by using smartphone to communicate to each other immediately, and they can use the rest of time to deal with other vital things. Based on such compelling evidence, it appears that pursuit of profit and economic growth is essential for technology improvement. On the other hand, when people aim to pursuit benefits, sometime they dismiss the harmful of the drawbacks from it. For instance, fast fashion and consumer electronics are often designed for short-term use to encourage frequent purchases, resulting in massive waste and environmental pollution. In contract, innovate eco-friendly items such as renewable energy technologies is more important, even it offers lower financial returns. These indicate that advocates believe that people should consider social and environmental seriously. To sum up, although the pursuit of profit has been a major driver of innovation, it is increasingly important to direct creative efforts toward solving social and environmental problems. Innovation should aim to balance economic goals with the well-being of people and the planet.