‏Some people think that interview is not reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Opinions are divided on whether interviews are a valid method to shortlist candidates for employment by large companies. This essay strongly opposes with the view of interview being an unreliable method of choosing employees since this approach not only evaluates how suitable they are to workforce environment but also ensure finding potiential ones. It must be acknowledged that interviews can help recruiter see whether the applicant are culturally suited to the company. Specifically, one of the main aims of interviewing applicants is to offer employer insights about their traits, including how punctual they are as well as their working attitude. Therefore, employers can catergorize suitable candidates who are willing to commit to the company in the long run, mnimizing changes in personnel. For example, a company would rather select candidates who can fit the environment than choose those who have high-qualified profile but cannot adapt to the corporation’s culture. Another worth-mentioning point is that interview methods these day offer fair evaluations. To clarify, when taking the interview, applicant can be assessed through creative criteria methods such as scenario-based questions or competency-based assessment. This way, applicants can have more chances to showcase their skills in various aspects which may not be included in CV. To exemplify, a technician when applying to a company is required to solve a technological problems, allowing them to demonstrate technician knowledge and analytical skills. Thus, this method of selecting candidates ensures that potential ones will not be overlooked. On the other hand, interview is believed to be an ineffective way of evaluating employees since it is superficial. That is because the interviewer is thought to form an initial impression within a few seconds when communicating with candidates so that if the candidates underperform, they will receive negative judgements, preventing them from showing their true abilities. However, many recruiters in large companies are experts in personnel, meaning that they know how to conduct proper assessment process that results in an optimal outcome. In conclusion, in spite of concerns about hasty judgements, interview is still a reliable tool for assessing applicants because of how it assesses the suitability of them and provides fairness.