the working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend . do you agree or disagree

It is been argued whether the work days should be shorter and that the workers should have more free days. Although others agree with this statement, I disagree, because it will lead to a lack in the outcome and workers will have less excitement for work. Firstly, if working hours are cut short, this would cause a shortage in the production of every work field. Take what happened in COVID-19 as an example. In the United States, the working hours were only 5 hours a day. This caused a dramatic decline, particularly in the food production industries. To illustrate fewer work days will lead not only to less production but also to detrimental effects on public health. In addition to that, it could also cause chaos since people are going to have more free time. Secondly, if workers have a longer weekend, they will lose their motivation for work. When a person takes more days off, they will come back to work feeling heavy and not ready to perform, but if they just have a weekend to rest, they will come back motivated to work. For instance, a BBC article shows that 35% of the workers in the UK feel depressed about going back to their jobs after having a vacation. In conclusion, although some argue that working people should work fewer hours, I disagree because of the two reasons stated above.