The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

Nowadays, obesity is one of the biggest problems especially in western society. According to some researchers, the percentage of overweight children in western society has reached by almost 20% in the last ten years. This case threatens children ’s lives, and it should be solved. This essay will discuss the causes and consequences of this case, and it will also try to find solutions. First of all, one of the biggest reasons that cause obesity is lack of movement. Today’s cities are complex and dangerous because of that parents do not prefer to let their children go out and play football, basketball or other things. Parents usually prefer to give their children technological devices to play games because it is safer than going outside. However, it causes obesity and heart disease that came from obesity. To solve this problem, the government should install new parks, tennis courts, football places, etc. Moreover, the government should provide children ’s safety when they play, walk and do something. To provide that, the authority can increase the number of police in such places where children play. Besides, the authorities should promote parents to allow their children to go outside and play by using social media or TV advertisements. To sum up, to prevent the increase of overweight children in future, authorities should take some measures. As far as I am concerned, one of the important measures is that the government should give parents a guarantee to protect their children.