The increase in the production of consumer goods (food, clothing) results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In this recent era, public concern regarding the growing demands of goods has been a topical issue as some individuals argued that negative impacts will happen due to this action. In respon to this issue, I will give my own opinion about the cause of this problem, along with the solutions. Turning to the reason, the increasing number of goods produced is caused by people density because there is a growing trend in the birth rate. Therefore, this will directly affect humans’ needs and wants, such as an agriculture industry or a fashion manufacturers. Taking Indonesia as one example, comparing to past experience, this country had less than a million citizen, with 2% of total spending for basic needs. In contrast, in the recent day, this number skyrocketed to more than 3 million population, with total expenditure almost doubled. Another reason is that individuals tend to have consumerism lifestyle influenced by some advertisements or recommendation. Therefore, they will buy products not because of their needs but the trend. Focusing on the ways that can be taken to over come these problems, making a regulation is essential for the government to control citizens. For instance, the policy should prohibit families to have more than two children. In addition, the government can also encougrage locals by raising awareness to not following consumerism by giving them socialisation about the drawbacks from being consumtive people, along with giving some negative affects in environment. To sum up, the increasing number of goods sold comes from the growing number of individuals and following consumerism lifestyle. To overcome them, the government can make a policy to reduce the population and consumtiveness.