Some people today believe that the world’s increase in population is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world’s economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Rising global populus is being feared to be a future crisis by some people, while others believe this to be positive to the growth of human kind. The writer of this essay believes that overpopulation increases the price of living space and essential goods, despite some people arguing that the workforce is enforced because the influx in workers. It must be noted that the current residential system cannot facilitate for increased residents. Due to the fact that most urban buildings were originally erected to house a specific amount of people, yet city planners did not anticipate that the population would rise at such drastic rates. For example, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam most populated metropolis, has been facing a housing crisis as more people started to move into the cosmopolitian. As a result, city dwellers either have to be complacent and live in inadequate living quarters, or spend a tremendous amount of money for alternatives. Despite the aforemention argument, the opposition believes as more people enter the economy, the more it will thrive. Stemming from the lack of personnel in some fields, increased manpower may resolve this problem. However, this can also lead to jobs being extremely competitive in the near future, because the job market is flooded with workers. This can be seen through The Republic of Congo in 2000, in which 90% of its citizens were unemployed, mostly as a result of the population bloom the country had witnessed a few years ago. In the writer's opinion, overpopulation is a negative development because it raises services prices. Naturally, due to to the law of supply and demand, more people living in a same area is going to raise items prices. For instance, China, which currently has over 1 billion citizens, was recorded to have the greatest inflation rates as well as prices surging within the last 20 years. Therefore, overpopulation, if not resolved correctly, would be problematic for individuals who are trying to survive. In conclusion, overpopulation is a negative notion, in this writer's opinion, because it increases accomodation and essentials prices, yet some may rebuts that it is positive for the economy.