Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that learning cross major modules is a good decision, whereas the others argue that focusing more on their own studies is more crucial. In my opinion, it is more important to learn additional materials from other programmes. On the one hand, paying all the attention and spending all your time to your own subjects for qualification leads to gaining deeper knowledge about one subject. The reason is, learning the same thing for years means you do more lessons and pratices about your study, which will develop you into a more specialized person. For example, Japan does not allowed their university students to do a cross-major and encourage them to study more on one major. Consequently, their research become more efficient and effective resulting in winning more Nobel Prizes than other Asian countries. On the other hand, study other subjects in addition to their main studies helps students to have added value. This is because they gain wider perspective on seeing something, which necessary for them to survive in the real life. A research in Harvard University explained that a job seeker is more likely to be chosen if they study additional materials outside their compulsary modules. It is clearly represents that people have more eager to learn something new if they study other subjects, which is an essential characteristics that will boost their performance at work. In conclusion, while some students believe that studying other subjects modules is important because it will be the added value for them, the others argue that it is more important to focusing more on their own studies because they will have deeper knowledge regarding their subjects. I agree that students need more point of views by learning cross major studies, because learning more things will unconsciously improve their jobs performance in the future.