Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Various nations around the world have mandatory service for adolescents after graduating from school. In recent years, there has been a debate on whether all countries should make national service obligatory and require both men and women to enlist. However, while I believe that countries should make conscription necessary, I do not agree that women should be made to serve. Firstly, national service is not only crucial for a nation's defence and security, but also one's character development and increase maturity during their transition from boy to adulthood. The training that servicemen go through equips them with the knowledge and skills to defend themselves in times of crisis. In Singapore military training, men go through various types of preparation, including building on physical fitness, weapon handling, and basic combat skills. These are all helpful during disasters and emergencies. Moreover, working together with other boys and facing challenges help cultivate a sense of teamwork, discipline, problem-solving, and resilience. These values are all essential to one's future. However, there are too many disadvantages as to why women should not be required to serve the nation. One of those drawbacks is that if women, alongside men, enlist into the military, there will be a shortage of manpower in other industries. Over the long term, it will impose a great cost, not only on women themselves, but also their families, children and spouses, and society as a whole. The Straits Times has mentioned that the Government does not believe that cost is justified to send a signal or to reverse stereotypes. In conclusion, martial service brings about various benefits to not only the nation, but to individuals as well. However, forcing women to join the army may hinder the development of the nation and their livelihood.