Some people think it is more important to provide parks and sports facilities than to provide shopping centers in these new town for people to spend their free time. To what extent doo you agree or disagree?

New towns and residential centres are continuously being planned and implemented across the globe. Amenities and natural spaces are important features to consider when designing a new town, this essay will discuss the reasons behind my firm opinion that leisure centres and green space are more important than shopping malls. Sports facilities and parks may play a role in improving the psychological and physical health of the neighbouring residents. Accessible gym and swimming pool motivate more people to invest in leading a healthier lifestyle, therefore allowing people to live a happier life. For example, when there is a gym that is within walking distance, the local people are likely to find time to visit and take part in exercising, group classes and sports events which in turn will likely create a sense of belonging to a community spirit. Whereas, shopping centres are not essential on a daily basis and may be limited to occasional necessity in which people may happily travel a greater distance. Additionally, Parks can be utilised by a wider range of the population including children, elderly and may also be accessible to wheelchair users. For example, families can spend their free time in the park in which children can use the play area, elders might relax on a bench and middle-aged people may have a picnic. On the other hand, shopping centres are likely to target and attract a small proportion of the population such as working adults and therefore are not of more importance than parks or sports facilities. In conclusion, although shopping centres can add value to a newly built town, the practical necessity of parks and leisure facilities is greater as they provide an all-inclusive service that improves the health and wellbeing of local public.