Many people buy things they don't need and sometimes can't afford what are the reasons behind this behaviour Is it a positive or negative development

In recent years, shopping has turned into a leisure activity for many instead of buying a necessary things, and many a times these people do not realise they have spent beyond their budget. This behaviour is possible primarily because of two significant reasons, and in my opinion It is a negative trend. One main reason due to which people purchase unnecessary and unaffordable items is the clever marketing techniques used by businesses to allure customers. For example, Merchandise is often put on sales during off seasons, and when people see their favourite brands are offering these products in less price they start buying it without thinking that these products would be out of fashion in near future. People are also encouraged to buy products beyond their need and budget beacuse of the availbility of loans. People these days do not have only high credit card limits but also they have mortgages and personal loans. Plus, retailers offer customer to purchase items in installments, therefore, the access to endless amount of money and the ability to buy products without paying it at the upfront is responsible for making people spendthrift and treat shopping as a hobby. As a consequence of spending money on things that are not in use and out of their budget can become a cause for people to face financial hardships. People often exhaust their savings or take loans. In both of these cases their future can become uncertain especially if they do not have any savings left to deal with any financial problems or they are unable to repay their loans, both of which can cause bankcrupcy and unnecessarily stress. In conclusion, advertisements and the ability to borrowing money from banks are the main factors which are responsible for making people spendthrift. I think this behaviour can cause unnecessary stress and financial troubles, so people should always think before they buy any product.