Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some argue that space exploration is the next step in human evolution, others strongly contend that government funding should be directed towards urgent societal issues. Although rapid technological advancements have made space travel become more feasible, public spending should be prioritised on public services. One major area that continues to suffer due to lack of financial investment is public healthcare. Budget cuts have negatively impacted hospital services nationwide, resulting in understaffed clinics, outdated facilities and a significant backlog of appointments. Consequently, doctors have been underpaid leading to strikes that aggravate the dire situation. Overall, healthcare quality will inevitably cause more individuals to suffer from preventable diseases. Furthermore, increasing crime rates in urban areas remains a critical issue that has been neglected. As a result of insufficient attention, knife crime in the UK has risen substantially over the past few years. A lack of spending towards the police sector has contributed to a surge of crime rates in major cities such as London, Manchester and Birmingham. If more public spending is directed towards policing, knife crime in the UK will gradually decline however, in today's time, certain areas plagued with knife attacks are rendered as unsafe. In summary, interplanetary space travel is an exciting opportunity that could propel humanity into further advancements. Nevertheless,sectors such as healthcare, policing and housing are vital components to a functioning society. It is imperative that public funding is prioritised towards sustaining health, safety and adequate housing before entertaining the notion of planetary colonisation.