Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels (oil, coil and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Other people disagree with this approach. Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion.

In today's globalized world, while some proponents argue that imposing taxes on fossil fuels is a better idea for reducing energy consumption, others advocate that it is not a viable measure for the issue. Although imposing taxes has a few disadvantages, I firmly believe that it offers greater advantages. This essay will examine both merits and drawbacks, supporting my perspective, and providing relevant examples, before reaching a well-justified conclusion. The primary issue of taxation on fossil fuels is the increasing living cost, especially in developing nations. Nowadays, 99% of areas are dependent on fossil fuels, not only transportation, but also factories, infrastructures and other industries. Consequently, living cost is increased, demonstrating a high value of inflation. Sri Lanka, for example, recently, just after the COVID pandemic crisis, experienced a high cost of living. This mainly happened due to the high taxation rate that the government imposed. On the other hand, there are several significant advantages of this approach. One of the main positive aspects is the reducing environmental deterioration, which is the main global issue in the 21st century. Another notable plus point is that researchers, scientists, and governments try to search for alternative sources of fossil fuels. As a result, the world is gradually shifting to renewable energy, such as wind, solar, and geothermal energy. The significance of these sustainable energy methods comes after imposing high taxes on fossil fuels. For instance, researchers have revealed that this green world concept has reduced the environmental issues by nearly half by 2050, compared to the current levels. In conclusion, taking everything into account, i reiterate my strong belief that the advantages of imposing high taxes on fossil fuels, including the increasing finding of alternatives (sustainable sources) and the reducing environmental issues (global warming), far outweigh its drawbacks, such as the increased the cost of living.