Some people say that history is one of the most important subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

It is highly debatable when it comes to science or history. Many supporters of history argue that it is the most important subject to study in school while, others argue that science and technological studies should given more priority in school. This essay will discuss both sides before articulating my own stance. On the one hand, history is considered the most crucial discipline to study in school for a myriad of reasons. Perhaps the prominent one is that history helps students gain insight into our ancient culture. This means, they can learn how their ancestor's civilization evolved, how the conflicts were resolved, and foster knowledge about people's behaviour and life without the availability of these modern facilities that we have today. For instance, it is mesmerizing to learn how the Taj Mahal was built in early 1600, when there were no architectural designing tools present to build a dom-type structure on the Taj Mahal. Furthermore, historical events can teach students to learn from their past experiences. As we dive deeper into history, we will find some patterns that are keep repeating such as the formation of life and the extinction of life. On the other hand, some groups of people suggest that, science and technology-driven subjects are essential in today's world due to their direct impact on economic growth and innovation. In this technologically driven world, skills like engineering, medicine and computer science are important to learn in school as every employer asks for one of these skill sets to have in a candidate's resume. Moreover, scientific literacy is needed to solve major issues such as climate change, pandemics and war. That's why students choose science and technology as a major in their higher studies. To conclude, although some people emphasise teaching history at school, I believe that science and technology-driven subjects bring more value to individual's life by providing status and handsome salaries.