In many countries, foreign labor is an important part of the economy. Using migrant labor can contribute to the development of a country, but it can also cause economic problems. What are some of the advantages and drawbacks of expatriate labor for a country’s economy?

In contemporary society the question of foreigner workers has widely debated, whether employing immigrants may entail benefits to the local economy or vice versa. In this essay, both favourable and negative aspects of this trend will be discussed. For the last decades we may encounter ever growing number of people travelling to various countries in order to get a job. Undoubtedly, as well as their aim of earning considerably high wages overseas, there are numerous merits for the hosting country as well. For instance, a key benefit of this development is considered its potential to delve with the dilemma regarding lack of labour, since birth rate is declining and the amount of adults to hire is being scarce in some countries, by inviting workers from neighbouring countries huge companies tend to cover its employment. Another major outcome is exchanging views and techniques of foreigners who are used to working with different approaches and techniques, which results in innovative solutions and a significant improvement of countries. Nevertheless, this solution is not without its drawbacks, there are some potential negative consequences to consider. First and foremost is risk of unemployment of local citizens in case there are exaggerated rates of outlander workers. As it is expected to replace country’s population which will lead to a competitive behaviour of employment. In addition to this, in terms of expenses, recruiting alien workforce is economically not profitable. Total cost of their comparatively higher wages, perks at work along with basic needs namely accommodation and flight will cost a fortune. Thus, enrolling inhabitants may be advantageous and less problematic in the long term To conclude, motifs for utilizing immigrants may assist to deal with few issues, especially if there are not enough people intending to work, yet if the number is overrated, it can cause another problem of unemployment. It is advisable for companies to consider the budget in advance.