Governments should spend money on public services rather than the arts. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, the issue has become highly controversial. There are those who say that investing in public services exerts a positive influence on the country however, others believe that it should not. In this essay, I will examine both sides of arguments and provide my overall opinion. On the one hand, some people believe that investing in public services enhances the national competitiveness in the long run. In particular, supporting education enables students to learn critical thinking and acquire useful skills for the real workforce, which contributes to the country’s development. Secondly, providing quality healthcare services prevents people from developing serious diseases, helping citizens work productively and enabling the government to save significant medical and welfare costs. Finally, public services encourage all people to improve quality of life regardless of income level. On the other hand, others think that governments should support arts because it plays a key role in improving people’s happiness and a sense of relaxation. Moreover, supporting arts such as music and museum can stimulate the local economy. These industries can attract foreign traveler. Finally, arts preserve the country’s identity and unique culture. In conclusion, I believe that governments have to support public services because it helps all-class individuals improve their quality of life, allowing the country to develop in the long run.