Many men and women are making the decisions to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impact of this development on both family and society? Give reasons for your answer and include examples

In the present world, it is obvious that newly married couples postpone raising children. There are many reasonable causes for this trend, which can impact society as well in different aspects. There is no debate; financial stabilisation is needed to raise children to supply their basic needs. Due to the current economic situation worldwide, the young generation is often financially pressured. Accordingly, most young people take at least five years to overcome financial pressures after completing their tertiary-level education. For instance, in Sri Lanka after completing their degrees, the young generation almost pass their mid-twenties, and it takes further long to be exposed to relevant industry experiences and settle down in their lives. Apart from that, most of the women professionals who completed education are reluctant to become pregnant, as it could affect their occupations. Therefore, it is obvious that there are many reasons why young adults postpone raising children. On the other hand, there are some impacts for those families and societies because of this tendency. For instance, most families are limited to one child, and smaller families can be found around the community compared to previous generations. But pregnancy can be challenging for women if they are in their late thirties, as the human body becomes weaker at this age. In contrast, this trend gives a positive vibe for global population growth as well. For instance, in China there are regulations to limit the number of children per family to mitigate overcrowding. In conclusion, there are many justifications to delay pregnancy by newly married couples in the contemporary world. Further, society and families also have an impact due to this tendency.