One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

In recent years, traffic jams have become one of the top global issues impacting many developed cities. There are some causes to why this is happening and what can be done to tackle this problem. In this essay, I will outline what I consider factors concerning the high volume of traffic and how to solve this complex matter. There are two main causes of traffic congestion, namely the increasing number of vehicles and overuse of roads. More and more wheels on the roadway simply because populations in all urban areas have increased drastically, which also triple the number of cars in each household. Research conducted in five cities in New Zealand with 200 households found that the average number of cars in each house was three, and the most owned in big families was ten, so they needed to drive because the public transport was insufficient. Not only are there cars, motorbikes, and bicycles on the roads, but also there are tourists and construction happening that is overcrowding the way. Even pedestrians crossing the road incorrectly can hold up vehicles or cause accidents, making the traffic worse in almost all cities. Authorities can put in place some strategies to reduce traffic jams in those crowded spaces. By implementing a rule to maximise the total of two cars owned in each household, and promoting public transport use instead. Each member of the house can either alternate turns to drive or use public transport as another way, reducing the overloaded traffic on the highway. Smart Road usage should be introduced to citizens on how to share the road. If there is construction happening around, safe detours need to be provided for both pedestrians and drivers to avoid queues. In conclusion, while congested traffic is a problematic issue for all around the world, there are actions that can be taken seriously. In my view, I think both the overfull number of vehicles and overflowing movement on the road are the key factors, and governments should tackle these concerning issues urgently.