Some people think that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree? What other methods could be used to reduce air traffic? ielts gt writing

There is an argument that some steps, like heavy tax, should be taken by governments to reduce air traffic. I totally agree with this view due to its detrimental effect on the environment, and other innovative methods can also help to control that. Although flight is the most convenient and fastest mode of transportation, it leads to environmental effects. Indeed, airplanes use a large amount of fossil fuels while they just transport a limited number of people. According to, study conducted by Toronto University, carbon released from the airplane for each mile is about three times more in comparison to cars. Moreover, implementing tolls for traffic congestion areas such as the city center has been successful, so, it would be helpful and effective for air traffic. Therefore, regard to the environment, it is essential to reduce air traffic, which setting a high tax seems to be the best solution. Developing the new forms of transport and providing its infrastructure is the other measure that government has to do. In fact, some new trains have already been developed which use renewable energies such as wind or solar cells as fuel, so in this case, the government must provide the needed infrastructure. For example, in japan, 90% of travel are taken by electronic trains, which are not only faster as much as airplane, but also they are eco-friendly. Thus, if the government offers a variety of means of transportation, the people would be encouraged to use them instead of flying, which would finally lead to a decline in air traffic. In conclusion, I agree that air traffic should be decreased due to its disastrous effects on our planet and in this regard, implementing high taxes and developing new forms of travel can be effective.