All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills, but others think having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some parents think that life skills must be more intensively equipped for their children at school because most of the time those are really used in a workplace. Does it mean that academic subjects taught to students at school are not really practical in their future jobs? In fact, science is significantly used by many institutions as a means to solve many problems or to create any innovation, and basically it can be acquired only through academic subjects. Therefore, I believe that academic subjects still need to be delivered to every pupil at school without disregarding to facilitate them with skills. Having good skills can be really helpful for people in doing their tasks, because in a real job they do not only face technical issues but also non-technical ones. For example, a researcher needs good communication skills to deliver their findings, or a manager needs great leadership skills in coordinating their subordinates. However, a good skill would be meaningless if it is not supported by good academic knowledge. For example, no matter how good a lawyer in debating, if he or she does not have adequate knowledge about legal principles, they will lose in a trial. Hence, academic subjects can be perceived as a foundation for a good scholar. In summary, every student must be equipped with not only skills but also academic subjects at school. They both like two sides of a coin, completing each other. If every school can provide these two components in their curriculum, the graduates might have great strengths to win the competition at work.