Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the increasingly digital development(the rapid development of digital technology), the internet has almost influenced every aspect. Against this background, to a great extent, global fashion trends affect people ’s lives in various aspects. Some people think it brings many benefits, while others disagree. This essay will discuss both points of views. There are several ways that global fashion trends impact individuals’ lives. Primarily, internet access has become widespread in both urban and rural areas. For example, in recent years, more and more people enjoy browsing short videos or pictures to catch fashion trends, or just entertain themselves. Plenty of (many) brand companies, such as Gucci, Chanel and Loewe, actively market their products on a variety of social media platforms, like YouTube, TikTok and Instagram. They hire various influencers to promote fashion items on different platforms, which makes it quite easy to attract a large audience’s attention. Additionally, in various competitive events, brand sponsor showcases its influence. Athletes will wear the designated brand's clothing, shoes, and even hats. Especially events like the Olympic Games, which are competitive events that people are widely watched from all over the world, many people are influenced by the colours or fashion items that are currently or will be popular in the future(that are popular or emerging). It is undeniable that these fashion trends cause both positive and negative effects on communities’ lives. From the advantageous aspects, these fashion items are marketed by brand companies, (contributing positively to the economy) boosting the economy well. Lots of consumers follow these trends to purchase modern products. Meanwhile, people of different ages who are attracted to sports events, are motivated to exercise. In China, tennis has become quite popular since the 2024 Paris Olympics. Plenty of students and young people engage in tennis, which enhances their physical and mental health. On the other hand, from the disadvantages, the prevailing trends may trigger students ' competitive mentality. For example, lots of students, especially those who are studying in universities, compete to see who has bought the latest bags. Some people don't have enough funds and take out loans online, which leads to depression due to excessive interest payments. In summary, fashion trends bring various benefits, such as promoting economic development and boost the phenomenon of mass participation in sports, however, individuals should remain critical of consumption, especially students and children, which helps them avoid physical and mental stress and harm caused by excessive consumption.