A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extend do you agree/ disagree with this option?

Taking care of old people is an individual responsibility in many countries. However, in Britain,it is the government’s duty to provide the social and medical care assistance for them to ensure their mental and physical well-being. I completely agree that governments should be in charge of the financial support for people above the age of 60, as they used to pay taxes to the government as well as they need professional medical support which is hard for individuals to provide. On the one hand, old people used to be tax payers before getting retired, which means that they invested a portion of their monthly income with to government to be used when needed. For example, in Canada, employees pay about 40% of their annual salaries for the government, however, they are getting this money back via different paths especially when they get old, such as providing them with a nurse if their health condition requires and support social activities to keep them engaged in the community. So I believe that governments should cover all the financial needs for the tax payers. Moreover, individuals in the old people ’s families may not have the medical qualifications to help them to provide the proper medical help as they are not professional in this field. For instance, a nurse would be more professional in preparing a healthy meal for a diabetic old man considering his age, weight, and health issues. For this reason, I think governments should ensure that a professional health-care is provided for elderly people in the community as this can help to maintain healthy societies. In conclusion, although individuals can be responsible of paying for the elderly health-care and social activities. I believe it is the government’s responsibility to provide the financial support for those requirements of old people as they were tax payers as well as the need of specialized medical professionals to deal with them.