Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification

There are some university students who wants to study other subjects along with major subjects to gain knowledge in various sectors whereas other students want to study only main subjects that can help to build their career. This essay will discuss both views before presenting my own opinion. To examine the former view; primary argument the supporters put forward is studying different subjects gives idea about all fields and gives a confidence to a person as these days allrounder people are highly in demand. Moreover, people know various aspects in detail in most sectors can do critical thinking which can help in their core subjects in many ways. For example, nowadays due to layoffs in information technology people with other skills like management and teaching can divert their career and earn money wisely if they studied relative subjects in university as an optional subject. On the other hand, those in a favor of latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that it is always better to focus on subjects which can help to secure a high paying job rather than wasting time behind subjects that can never be helpful in future. For instance, there is a subject name lifestyle which Indian students need to study in university days which can never be helpful for anything in life. To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against for studying major and minor subjects in the university. However, I certainly favour the former view.