The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some might argue that science should be utilized to enhance the lives of people on Earth. This essay completely agrees with this statement, as science is able to affect the lives of many people, and the requirements of certain religions. The field of science is the only field that impacts the largest number of individuals living on this planet. Science extends to several essential fields, such as physics, technology, and medicine, that many people engage and benefit from daily. Therefore, scientific breakthroughs could alter the lives of millions, and even billions of members of society. For example, the World Wide Web, that was invented around two decades ago, has transformed the world into a small village, enabling humanity to communicate with anyone on Earth and access information in seconds. Clearly, science when used appropriately, could revolutionize the lives of numerous people. Religious obligations are another reason why I think the field of science should be used to change individuals' lives for the better. This is because several religions demand their followers to give back to people when they are capable of doing so, and as mentioned, science enables people who pursue it to positively affect the lives of many. In Islam, for instance, they are obliged to idolize the prophet, Mohammed, and he ordered his followers several times to work with the purpose of elevating society. To conclude, due to science's ability to alter the lives of numerous people for the better and the demands of religions, I stand by the statement that says that people who pursue science should aim to enhance people's lives.