Government should provide free public Transportation facilities 24/7 to reduce traffic congestion. To what extent do you agree or Disagree

The increasing number of private vehicles on roads is becoming a contentious issue in today's world. Some people suggest that to improve the flow of traffic, the government should provide public transportation facilities, free of cost for whole day and night throughout the week. I partially agree with the notion of offering free commutation services. This essay will further elaborate my opinion to the suggestion with supportive arguments before providing a conclusion. Firstly, the benefit of travelling free encourage people to use public transportation instead of private vehicles. If more people will share common vehicles to travel, this will reduce the number of private cars on road, consequently reducing the traffic congestion. For instance, In Delhi, India, one of the strategy implemented by the authorities to reduce the use of personal cars on motorways was offering free bus facilities to the general public to cover local distances. Therefore, providing the advantage to pay zero cost to travel will attract more individuals to use public transportation which will further tackle with the problem of traffic. Additionally, this approach will assist in resolving the major issue of pollution that most of the cities face as limited use of vehicles will decrease the emissions into the air which directly eliminates the air and noise pollution creates by vehicles. On the other hand, equipping the nation with fare free transport facilities will create a huge financial burden on the government. There are many other areas for development such as education and healthcare that requires investment by the authorities. If government will be completely held responsible to eliminate traffic problems, this will limit their ability to focus and overcome other issues that the country experiences. Hence, both the public and the government should work collaboratively to tackle the issue. To conclude, though free transportation services will divert people to opt buses and trains to travel which will enhance smooth flow of traffic but the government solely should not be made responsible to invest and implement strategies.