Many animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in sea. What are the reasons and solutions?

As the result of constant harvestation and industrialisation over the centuries, activities that humans undertake every day are causing a detrimental effect on the lives of animals. This essay will discuss why overpopulation is the leading factor and suggest a solution to alleviate the extinction of animal species, which is by implementing stricter laws. Animal extinction is driven by various factors, however, overpopulation is the major cause. For instance, the increased number of people raised a higher demand for wood. The cutting down of trees for wood collection results in the loss of natural habitat for animals to live in. Furthermore, there is a drastic increase in the number of products being produced in factories, leading to large amounts of toxic gas emissions. These contaminated gases being emitted into the air can harm both the air and the water resources, further damaging not only land animals but also sea creatures. As an example, the Dodo bird is a victim of deforestation for agriculture and human activities, which altered their living environment and impacted their ability to reproduce. To solve this global phenomenon, both authorities and individuals should be responsible and take action to alleviate this problem. Higher authorities should establish new regulations on the limitation of the usage of wood and the emission of polluted air. Moreover, as individuals, it is crucial to adapt to the given laws for protecting the environment. In summary, overpopulation is the leading cause of the extinction of other species, and its resolution can be the creation of new laws by governments and the environmentally friendly activities undertaken by individual people.