Some people believe that unpaid community services should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity ,improving the neighborhood or teaching sport to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the belief that high schools should require their students to participate in voluntary community services. From my perspective, I completely agree with the view above. This essay will discuss the topic as follows. First and foremost, unpaid community services advocate students to gain experience. To begin with, they will acquire time management and planning as well as working effectively. Through many trials and errors, they will find a way to approach a problem to simplify the process. Moreover, students can learn to become aware of the changes in surroundings, such as sympathizing with people's feelings and improving observation skills, and try to control their temper. For instance, joining an internship as a temporary teacher can help students to become adapted to the school environment and practice persuading kids or leading studying and doing exercise. Secondly, these activities help students to coordinate together. Some activities, like improving the neighborhood, demand teamwork as well as creativity in drawing to complete the task. Therefore, students not only try but also practice and enhance basic skills and capabilities but also learn to have a chance to accumulate collaboration and mutual understanding. On the other hand, such a program takes up too large a part of time for students; as a result, it distracts students from going intensive on the school’s curriculum. As there are final high school exams, students must apply themselves to compulsory subjects in order to get into prestigious universities or colleges; they will be overpressured and tired, which can create counterproductive results. Hence, it is also challenging to integrate volunteer work into the school syllabus. In conclusion, charitable activities, though they may take up or use up time, can benefit students by preparing them with essential soft skills for their future.