Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. Therefore, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

It is widely assumed that poorer countries should be aided in critical sectors such as health, education, and trade by richer ones. Although the humanitarian intention behind such dedication is understandable, it is challenging and fraught with drawbacks. As a result, I hold the opposite opinion. This essay will discuss this topic and provide detailed reasons. First and foremost, wealthy nations may have a lot of resources, but these are not unlimited. If all financial resources were invested in other foreign lands, there would be an insufficient budget for the government to spend on upgrading infrastructure or the military. This can weaken its power and make the nation more vulnerable. Ultimately, such decisions are conditional, depending on the situation, and leaders may not take responsibility. Secondly, such funding may raise concerns about bureaucracy and corruption. If financial donations are mismanaged, there is a risk of losing all the funds due to the misallocation of money on unnecessary services. Consequently, the help would become meaningless. Therefore, such support must be well-considered and restricted to prevent wastage. On the other hand, it is not mandatory for developed nations to always provide financial backups for poorer ones. Many countries in the past were exploited during colonization, so providing assistance could be seen as a form of reparation. In addition, the root causes of poverty often stem from a lack of education, healthcare, and business opportunities. Giving a helping hand can solve the root problem, not just the symptoms. In conclusion, while foreign aid can bring improvements, the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. Considering that many governments in poor countries may have short-sighted views on development, I believe foreign assistance is not always recommended.