In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, in many parts of the world, institutes give emphasis on teaching skills, which are essential to fetch jobs in future. This trend is gaining popularity, and is widely accepted by parents and students. However, more efforts could be made, which can help pupils to target the world of work. To begin with, a number to steps can be taken. Firstly, a change in school curriculum. As a matter of fact, in traditional education system more importance is given to topics such as, Maths, Science, etc, because they are considered more valuable. However, in the modern era, the job world is looking for specific skills. To illustrate, in recent years, Coding is gaining popularity, but it is generally not taught as a school subject. Thus, education system should consider changing the syllabus so that topics of practical value could be taught to the students. Adding more to it, institutes can consider providing a job specific industrial training. In fact, by giving a first hand experience of the field could actually help students to find their hidden passions. Which, could guide them to select suitable professional courses after the initial education. For example, many Multi National Corporations prefers to hire candidates, which have some kind of field experience in the past. Hence, schools can arrange industrial training, before going to an actual job. In conclusion, undoubtedly, conventional education lay a foundation, but in order to get a job, institute can make a few changes in their curriculum and can arrange some kind of part-time field jobs. Which will ultimately help students in their future.