Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam ‘. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is believed that people are always looking for entertainment, special if they have a good income. Therefore, the first thing they have done is having a privet car. However, if car ownership has a rapid increase, it will cause a huge problem in traffic. This situation, in my opinion, is rising significantly all over the world, and a lot of actions should be taken to encourage citizens to use other means of transportation. First and foremost, using privet cars are preferred by most people everywhere they go because commute public transportation is not comfortable and slow. This causes big crowed in every street special in rush hours. Statistics in London in 2005, illustrated that each family has at least two cars, that is mean increase in the number of cars twice as much as was in 2003. As a result, the government have to take active steps such as, constructing new lanes for walking or even for cycling, this will make people leave their cars and use these roads every time they need, so they get away from crowd and reach to the work early with all energy. For instance, in my city, I am used to cycling when I go to my university because I find the cycling lanes are easier than driving my car and less crowded. In addition, the government have to make the transportation more relaxed than the privet cars, this makes drivers use it instead of their vehicles because they have relaxed inside it. For example, by 2001, countries like China had developed transportation and constructed fast line trams to make citizens to reach any location they need without any compliments. To sum up, traffic is a big problem that many cities suffer from it gradually, so the ministry has to take many actions to discourage drivers from using their vehicles by creating new streets and improving buses and trams, so the number of cars will drop.