Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue if increasing importance. What problems does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

In the present day, scarcity of water has become a major concern around the world. Indeed, new technologies for water purification have been experimented with by many countries to tackle this situation. But these approaches demand significant resources and investment. Therefore, fresh water resources should be protected and carefully used. In this essay, the issues related to water shortage and steps to be taken to mitigate it will be discussed. Firstly, people who do not have access to purified water suffer from limited sanitary facilities. Further, persuading people to consume polluted water resources may result in diagnoses of water-borne diseases such as cholera and typhoid. As a result of lacking better quality water, authorities have to increase prices per water unit. Accordingly, the community attempt to rely on their private wells. However, extreme groundwater extraction can promote drying wells and stress on the water table. Likewise, it is obvious that scarcity of water leads to numerous difficulties, connected to one another. Indeed, measures should be taken to preserve water resources before it is too late. The government can conduct awareness programmes for the community, revealing the importance of water. For example, exhibiting notice boards around freshwater bodies can be a good solution. Besides, it is essential to develop strict rules and regulations for people who purposely pollute water resources. Undoubtedly, individuals only take something seriously with punishments. In conclusion, when it comes to global water distribution, water which can be used only exists less than two per cent. Purification of seawater can be challenging and take several efforts and time and be costly. Therefore, freshwater resources should be protected, as it is everyone’s responsibility for sustainable development.