There are fewer and fewer differences between countries. People around the world may watch the same kinds of TV series, buy goods of same brands, and follow the same trends. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

As the development of globalisation, the boundaries between different cultures are fading away. People from different countries may share similar preferences and fashion trends. I will discuss both pros and cons. To start with, the increasing similarity of culture could foster connectivity of the world. People from different regions have more common preferences and lifestyles. For example, A chinese can discuss the World Club and Rubby 7 with an Italian online and watch the game at the same time to develop common experience and friendship. More importantly, we can easily find simliar products, like Starbucks and KFC, in different community. It means that we can maintain our lifestyle regardless of the geographcial location. It largely reduces the potential culture shock and enhances the mobility of the global talents. Nevertheless, we should also take a look at the drawbacks. The current globalised trend is mostly from economically strong regions, like the USA and the EU. The traditional cultures and habits from underprivileged countries are disappearing. According to Harvard University research, there is at least one language disappears every 5 years. It is threathening the cultural diversity. Those affected people might lose their self-identity and sense of belonging. In addition, local enterprises struggle to survive due to the over expansion of MNC, like Coca-cola. It might affect the local economy too. All in all, the development of similarity of the culture and lifestyle facilitates global interaction, communication and talent mobility, while also threatening the existence of traditional culture and local small businesses. We should pay close attention to preserv ing the local culture too.