Employees sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the prevailing era, recruiting ideal workers has become a pressing issue. It is an argued issue whether private information, namely martial status, daily activities and many more, is asked by bosses or not. This essay will not only discuss both viewpoints but also my opinion is also highlighted. Commencing with the most salient reason why people support the inclusion of personal data in job application that it allows employees to understand the character of a candidate and suitability for the position. For example, a hobbies such as playing a sport game can demonstrate the ability of a person to work in a team, while having knowledge of foreign language can highlight their adaptabilities to learn new things. Thus, having this information is conducive. Despite its given arguments, I think that personal information in job applications should not be included because It can lead to discrimination and bias. Many employers may use this information to make assumptions about the candidate's gender, age and ethnicity, which could result in unfair treatment and missed opportunities for the applicants. To illustrate, a married women applicant may be perceived as a less committed or less likely to accept long hours. So, employers should ask some relevant information and adhere to hire fair practices. To conclude, although containing private information in a job application helps employees to comprehend the candidate's personality, I believe that having these information can prevent some candidates from getting opportunities.