Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reuce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

According to research, lower crime rates have been recorded among those who hold academic degrees. As a result, many argue that educating criminals in prison could potentially reduce crime. Although I personally beleive education can play a pivotal role in restricting someone from violating the law, mandatory community service as part of their sentence can aslo alleviate the crime rates. On the one hand, providing literacy and increasing the knowledge of law breakers during their jail time can broaden their understanding of the negative impact it creates on the society and within their private life. Education and rehabilation program can teach the culprits how their action can lead to fear and lack of trust within people accompanied by the emotional toil the victims need to go through. For instance, a victim who has been robbed might develop social anxiety and has higher chance of developing detrimental psychological disorders like PTSD which can even demolish their family life. Furthermore, one other significant benefit of skilled education is that it creates a wide spectrum of oppurtunities for criminals to engage in productive workforce upon completion of their jail time. Learning occupations which is in demand like plumbing or within building sector can motivate them to engage in an occupation in the future. On the other hand, while education can provide ethical insight into the culprits, making them compulsorily engaged in community charity services can aslo play a critical role in experiencing compassion, love. caring and other values in a practical level, which eventually might lead them in creating a positive perspective towards others and might motivate them not to continue their past unjustful life. This can be justified by reports that states criminals who worked in aged care services as part of their punishment later has less chance of indulging in similar crimes. In conclusion, both education and community service participation of criminals can be an efficient method of deescalating crime rates and encouraging law breakers to lead a fullfilling and a productive life.