Tourism helps promote a country’s or a region’s culture. At the same time, there is concern about its negative effects on the preservation of local cultures. For a local culture, do the disadvantages of tourism outweigh the advantages?

Toursim is the economic backbone for majority of countries worldwide. Although, visitation of heritage sites fosters the cultures and traditions of a region, nevertheless, there are some cons primarily related to degradation of toursim hotspots that cannot be neglected. Taking into account the positive factors, tourists from all around the world, boosts the socio-economic growth of a nation. To explain this, when visitors visit diverse countries, they need a currency exchange to spent their money on hospitality, which include hotels and meals. This uplifts the economical status of a country. A prime example is, according to the recend survey, India's tourism contributes upto 50% to its economic progess. In the light of its negative consequences, the foremost one is the elevation of pollution and loss of naturals environment. Due to seasonal influx, a number of visitors rise in an area, which also increases the demand for more food and shelter. Consequently, the legal authories are clearing large patches of land to construct new hotels, which turns into loss of habitat of many animals. Also, manage of plastic waste become more challenging due to overconsumption of processed food and plastic water bottles. Apart from this, Governments are trying to adopt more western culture, which is becoming difficult to preserve intangible cultural heritage. Taking into account an example of India, Indians tend to demolish their own tourism hotspots and build innovative creations targeting cultural commodification to attract more tourists. Conclusively, tourism plays a key role in escalation of the financial status of a nation, however, authories should conserve the authentic experience of heritage sites and shouldn't break those, for the sake of profit and steps should be taken to control the pollution by managing the numbers of visitors per year.