Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flight, often to hold holiday destination. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that air pollution has increased rapidly compared to the past decades. Some individuals think that the government can lessen air traffic by imposing a higher tax on it. I disagree with this notion. By implementing a heavy tax on flights, not only lower economic growth but also interferes the public freedom, and affects the peace and harmony among nations as well. One of the main reasons for disagreement is that most of the nations are welcoming tourists to their regions. Tourism brings job opportunities for people and improves the economic situation of their citizens as well. In most of the regions, people are highly dependent on the tourists, and if the officials put a higher tax on air flights, then nobody will visit anywhere. For instance, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, and Shimla are most attractive tourist destinations, higher taxation on flights will definitely affect them, and as a result, these places will lose their popularity. Moreover, every individual has the right to think freely, and can visit anywhere they want. We know that, new generation prefers to study abroad to fulfil their dreams, but intense taxes could make international education unaffordable, and force them to study in their home country, where limited spots will be available to get enrolment in prestigious universities. Furthermore, international travel fosters cultural exchange, understanding, and peaceful relations among nations. Undoubtedly, the Government also help those people, who are from distinct backgrounds, and helps them when they face any kind of emergency, especially, wars, natural disasters, and scarcity of resources. This can be possible only when the government promote global unity. To sum up, while addressing air pollution is crucial, imposing higher taxes on air travel is not the right solution. It would negatively affect tourism, restrict personal freedom, and weaken international cooperation. I think governments should explore more sustainable and balanced approaches to reduce environmental impact without compromising economic progress.