Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? *Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.*

Various processed food and beverages could be detrimental to the public's health. Products with higher sugar content should be pricier to discourage consumers from purchasing these items. I believe that increasing the price of these items are a viable initiatives, however, individuals should also be aware of the harm these products cause and hold themselves accountable when consuming them. On the one hand, people tend to compare prices when buying their groceries, therefore increase in price could easily persuade them to put these items back into the shelves. Since families often have limited budget, they often choose the cheaper alternatives. If a soft drinks costs more than the healthy option, many shopper will choose the latter one. For instance, when the UK introduced a sugar tax on soft drinks in 2018, many consumers switched to cheaper low- sugar versions. In short, this shows that making sugary products more expensive is an effective way to encourage people to reduce their sugar consumption. On the other hand, countries should ensure that the citizens are aware of the health hazards that come with overconsumption of sugary foods and drinks. Most people are not aware that excessive consumption of these products could lead to various health issues. Therefore, schools play a fundamental role to promote younger individuals to eat well balanced diet and avoid foods with high sugar content. Early education on this topic could save them later on life from falling victims to diseases like diabetes, obesity and high cholestrol levels. In brief, rational individuals can make better choices in what they decide to consume. To conclude, tackling excessive sugar consumption requires effort fromboth the governement and individuals. While government can discourage unhealthy habits by regulating prices, people themselves must be responsible for choosing a balanced diet.