It should be more expensive to make sugary products less appealing to consumers in order to encourage them to consume less. Many manufactured foods and drinks contain high levels of sugar, which can cause many health problems. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that beverages and fast foods are consumed by people a lot. Some individuals think that the government should make these sugary products expensive, so that people will consume less. I agree with this notion as it helps to lessen the obesity problems, and educate them as well, but other measures should be implemented, such as promoting healthier drinks, and a ban on manufactured food. One of the main reasons for consuming sugar products is that it is easily available in the market. Most of the individuals love to taste the fast food, meat products, and bakery products without knowing their consequences. As per the CBC news, obesity and overweight problems are directly linked to consuming higher amounts of sugar-based products. If the government imposes higher taxes on these soft drinks, and confectionery items, then it will not only help to reduce these problems, but also people may choose not to buy them. Moreover, sweetened products also enhance the chances of heart attack, cancer problems when they are ingested on a daily basis. One study shows that cavities and decay problems in teeth happen only when individuals eat candies, chocolates, and carbonated sugary drinks. It is essential to educate and raise awareness the individuals about the harmful effects of having it. There are other measures which can become effective to address this issue. Firstly, a proper ban on these products may help to some extent. Recently in India, most of the villages decided to refuse to consume sugary beverages, as they think soft drinks include caffeine, which slowly and steadily encourages the youth to consume drugs in future. Another point is that, energy drinks, smoothies, and fresh juice of fruits and vegetables should be promoted on a broader scale, because they contain nutritional values. In conclusion, no doubt, higher taxation on sugary products really helps to reduce the consumption of sugary products. This may cause overweight and heart disease due to the excessive usage of these products. It is required to be aware the consumers, imposing a ban and promoting healthy drinks, can be used as a substitute for sugar-sweetened beverages.