Many claims that the fast-food industry had a negative effect on the environment, eating habits, and families. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that the fastfood industry has a negative effect on the environment, eating habits and families. This essay will explain why I agree with this statement. Firstly, one major negative impact of fast food is its effects on the environment. The meat production which requires a huge amount of land, water feed. This results in deforestation and biodiversity loss. Transporting ingredients globally contributes to carbon dioxide emissions. Most fast food uses plastics, Styrofoam and paper, which get thrown in the oceans and landfills. Moreover, fast food is not good for health. These are often high in unhealthy fats, sugars and sodium, leading to poor eating habits, obesity and related health issues such as diabetes and heart disease. The rise of obesity among adults and children is often linked to consuming fast food. Some families often buy fast food, and this affects the family bonding, communication and establishing healthy eating habits. Home-cooked meals are more meaningful. In conclusion, fast food industry has a detrimental effect in environment, health and society in general.