IELTS Topics: Number 8. Some think that teenagers should follow older people’s rules. Others thinks that it is natural for them to challenge what older people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Ever since there are humans, the young have challenged the beliefs of older people while they want to share their wisdom. The question remains if young people should follow older people ’s rules or go after their natural instinct to go their own way. On the one hand, the older generations have a lot of wisdom and life experience to judge certain situations better. Knowing how to handle a situation out of experience can prevent failure and support the outcome. If this knowledge is shared, young individuals can learn and alter the outcome of new situations by adapting to what they learned. Furthermore, generational knowledge can be improved upon by generations to come. This can be applied to many technologies nowadays. For instance, planes made out of paper hardly leaving the ground now go between continents. On the other hand, old people often have a hard time letting go of what they know, even when it is not beneficial anymore. For example, many older construction workers tend to use their hand tools instead of machinery. This is mostly owed to pride and inacceptance of being wrong. Therefore, if young people do not challenge old rules, it can have the opposite effect and lead technology to a standstill. In conclusion, while it is often useful to learn from older people, following them blindly can have its drawbacks and doubting someone can also lead to improvement. I firmly believe young people should listen to the older generations, but also ask themselves if they don’t want to make their own experiences as well.