Many people believe that family has a greater influence on a child’s life and development than other factors like friends, TV, music and so on. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no denying the fact that humans are influenced significantly by their environment. Some people argue that family has a greater influence on a child's development, while others believe that other factors are more impactful. In this essay, I will examine both statements, and the extent to which I agree with the second notion. To begin with, the role of parenting can influence children's behaviour and emotional development. In other words, kids see parents as their role models, which might define their personalities over time. In addition, children not only take their parents as role models, but they also try to copy their actions and principles. As an example, if a kid sees his father reading, he will try to do the same. On the contrary, non-family environments have more potential impacts on children's intelligence and nature. As they spend more time with their friends, they will think and behave similarly to the individuals around them. For example, kids who often hang out with intelligent people, they are more likely to become clever, as many studies have shown. Moreover, technological advancements can be considerably harmful on children's development. With the rapid growth of the internet, children can access inappropriate information, such as sexual or criminal content. This can negatively affect their mentality and, conequently, their future. In conclusion, although parents' part is undeniable, I believe that other factors, like friends and the media are more impactful on children's personalities. Therefore, we should pay close attention to the content they see, and the friends they hang out with.