In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays?

There have been some discussions over whether school holidays should be short or long. It is obvious that either long school holidays and the shorter one has its own values which can be perceived as beneficial factors to planning curriculum. On the one hand, it is argued that the two or three-month summer holidays can be contemplated as a great opportunity to start learning new skills and going on vacation. Many consider summer holidays as a great time to take up new activities since during school years there is no longer enough free time to engage in. Learning playing a musical instrument or a type of sports, for instance, needs a great deal of time which in no longer accessible during school years. Moreover, some see long summer holidays as great opportunity to go on a vacation without any worry about interval in children’s learning process in school. Since during summer the weather is really hot and many people cannot stand it, families prefer to manage to go on a long holiday while not having any stress for their children’s school. Having said that, shorter school holidays helps school officials to be able to have more efficient curriculum as well as high quality of learning process. Needless to say longer summer holidays means shorter school year which states educational topics have to be taught to students in a shorter period of time. As a result, it can negatively put pressure on educational system as well as students learning process. So, the shorter summer holiday become, the better planning and higher productivity can be perceived. Besides this, at the beginning of the school year, teachers go into a short time for reviewing the last year’s school subjects when holiday period being short. Additionally, having shorter vacation exerts less pressure on parent. Parents have to plan their children’s free time during vacation simultaneously they have to spend a huge amount of money on summer classes. It is obvious that this takes time and energy while they have preoccupations and have overwhelmed with their job. Therefore, parents would tolerate less pressure and stress if their children have a short period of time for school holidays. In conclusion, Although long summer vacation is an appropriate opportunity for children to start engaging in new activities and taking a trip, this can put pressure and stress on parents because alongside other responsibilities, they have to manage their children’s free time as well as spending a great amount of money on summer classes.