The majority of television news being reported is bad news: wars, famines, accidents and crime. Some people think that television news should be a mixture of good and bad news. Choose whether you agree or disagree with this statement and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Most of the news televised, nowadays, is about the bad things happening in the world, such as wars, famines, accidents, etc. There is an ongoing debate that the television should telecast both positive and negative information, while others are against this. This essay agrees with this view because only showing the negative side increases restlesness among the general masses and showing a mixture of good and bad stuff will promote hope and motivation among the general masses. To commence with, only showing the news of accidents and crimes increase uneasiness among the general masses because people are constantly looking at the negative side of an incident. They are not getting any sigh of relief from the gloominess, which leads to a wave of pessimism among them. Hence, they can become a victim of depression and overthinking. For instance, during the Coronavirus pandemic, most of the news was about the increasing number of patients and casualities, which caused extreme fearfulness among the normal people. Moreover, in today's world, most of the people have a hectic and stressful life. Therefore, watching the negativity on television, further upsets them. This makes them irritated and angry, compromising their mental health. However, if they watch a positive news on the television, such as olympic win of their country, it encourages hopefulness and motivation among them. This on the other hand, will help them to relieve their stress and become happy. Conclusively, I strongly agree that there should be a balance between the positive and negative news showcased on tv, since only watching negativity can cause mental health disruption of an individual. But, at the same time, if there is a positive information coming up on TV will make them glad and happy.