With the increasing demand for energy such as oil and gas, people start to look for their sources in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Oil and gas are non renewable resources, it is well known fact that we are consuming those at a rapid rate. As a result, people start exploring untouched, remote regions in order to meet the rising demand. Although, searching new lands helps meeting the consumption requirement, in my opinion the disadvantages such as environmental degredation brings greater challenges. To start with, everytime a remote place has human intervention, it disturbs the natural ecosystem of a place. It often results in depletion of the flaura and fauna leading to consequences such as environmental pollution. Adding on, it often results in changes in weather, such as unexpected natural calamities. For instance, because of oil exactraction using techniques like hydrolic fracturing, the ground water has been contaminated leading to massive deaths of plants and animals in the area of Grande Prarie. Therefore contributing to landslides and soil erosion. On the other hand, the population needs energy for survival as the modern lives rely heavily on energy. These fuels are used everyday on an extremely large scale from the cars to a tubelight, and from the table lamps to the huge factories. Even a small power outage in production outlets can damage billions of dollars. So extracting oil and gas from new, untouched oil beds can be a great help to keep the economy going. For example, the discovery of new oil sand beds in Alberta helped half of the country to run smoothly by providing fuel. In conclusion, though the economy in modern the world depends heavily on oil and gas, I am of the opinion that, it should not come at the cost of our environment. The government should rather spend the money on discovering more renewable fuels, the disadvantages of discovering new regions for fuels outweigh its advantages.